Saturday, August 12, 2006

Nó em Pingo D'Água: "João Pernambuco"

Last night I had the pleasure of listening to the shown recording by the choro ensemble, Nó em Pingo D'Água, performing elaborate arrangements of compositions by João Pernambuco. Nó em Pingo D'Água consists of Mário Sève (flute), Pedro Amorim (mandolin), Jorge Eduardo (7-string acoustic guitar), Rogério Silva (6-string acoustic guitar), Wanderson de Paulo (cavaquinho) and Márcio Gomes (pandeiro).The ensemble unites with pianist, composer and arranger Antonio Adolfo on all tracks, and some tracks have guest staring by Maurício Carrilho (acoustic guitar), Mauro Senise (soprano sax) and Norato (trombone).
All tracks are composed by João Pernambuco, one of the originators of the guitar choro tradition in Brazil, and the tracks are:
1. Interrogando 2. Mimoso 3. Sonho de Magia 4. Graúna 5. Choro em Sol 6. Sentindo 7. Rosa Carioca 8. Brasileirinho 9. Dengoso 10. Valsa em Lá 11. Sons de Carrilhões 12. A Estrada do Sertão
The cd is recorded 1983 and released by Atração (ATR 32010) in the Acervo Funarte series. This cd may be no longer available, but you may have an opportunity to listen to it at the new web radio by Funarte, Canal Virtual.
This web radio gives access to many of the released recordings in the Acervo Funarte series and thus offers the opportunity to listen to different Brazilian music of high quality.


Post a Comment

<< Home